What are you putting on your skin?

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pfq000AF1i8&feature=relmfu]
I just finished doing a final presentation for my Medical Anthropology course on sunscreen. The assignment was to design a public health campaign. Rather than going where you might think and encouraging people to wear sunscreen, we looked at the chemicals in sunscreens, and whether or not using it is really a good idea. Through this project, I learned more about health concerns with cosmetics in general, and decided to look up how safe the products I use really are. 

I used the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Database to look up a couple of the products I use on a daily basis. EWG gives a 1-10 hazard rating thats based on known and suspected hazardous chemicals in these products. I encourage you to look up your own products! A lot of the data is still pretty limited, so I don’t know that I’ll go out and change my products right away, but it’s good to have a sense of what you’re putting on your body. I was also fortunate that all of my products (aside from my shampoo) were in a reasonable range, so I can feel a little bit better about using them!

  • Lady Speed Stick: 3
  • Colgate Total: 5
  • Olay body wash plus body butter ribbons: 5
  • Kerastase Shampoo: 7
  • Kerastase Conditioner: 5
  • Lubriderm Moisturizer: 5
  • Kiss My Face Sunscreen: 3
  • Chapstick Lip Balm: 6
  • Listerine Antiseptic Mouthwash: 2

Keep in mind that each product from each company has a different rating, so you might want to look yours up anyways even if you use the same brand as me. If you happen to use a slightly different product the rating could be completely different!

Leave a Reply

