Banana Bread


It seems that the nostalgia for my co-op life has already begun. Over the last couple days I’ve been scrupulously watching a batch of bananas in our fruit bowl get darker and darker. I decided, finally, to take both of these matters into my own hands. Thusly, I present to you (well, actually to my family and friends, who promptly polished it off) this banana bread. Recipe follows.

Baking banana bread is kind of like making pasta–it’s so easy to do, and yet so tasty. There are a lot of variations of banana bread recipes, but it’s essentially like baking anything. The recipe I used is from SimplyRecipes, though you could easily make this without any guidance.

I added some shavings and small pieces of baking chocolate (somehow couldn’t find any chocolate chips in my pantry, but this proved equally delicious), but you can make it without. I intended to eat it with nutella (duh), but it was finished before I remembered to do that.

Ingredients

  • 3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
Directions
No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.
One comment

  1. What a splendid recipe, thanks so much for sharing =)

Leave a Reply

