Outside Lands 2012 Recap

This past weekend I headed to Golden Gate Park for Outside Lands (against my best judgement and the will of my physical therapist, but oh well, YOLO or something..) Took me two full days to recover, but the back feels great, and now I’m feeling like it was worth it! Let me share some video I took with you…

Day 1: Yacht, (Beck), Tennis, Die Antwoord, Andrew Bird, Justice

Day 1 was a good warm up. Die Antwoord was by far my favorite, but no surprises there. Andrew Bird wasn’t the most spectacular, but to be fair I found myself wondering if a festival of this size is the appropriate setting to see Andrew Bird. It’s ok, I still love him!

And here is some Day 1 video for you. (Btw, all my video is of varying quality, so I apologize if it isn’t up to your standards. I’m only 5’4 and there were like 5 bajillion people there).

Die Antwoord

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHnkZVoT2Lg&feature=plcp]

 

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ARmCKU0oIGM&feature=plcp]

 

Justice

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xZHja6JuHA&feature=plcp]

 

Day 2:  Portugal. The Man, Alabama Shakes, (Michael Kiwanuka), Big Boi, Passion Pit, Metallica, (Sigur Rós)

Day 2 might have been my favorite. I’m not sure Saturday and Sunday were both awesome so it’s a hard call.  It’ll come as no surprise to those who know me that Big Boi was my favorite. Second time seeing him and he’s still got it. It was awesome to finally hear material from Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty live. And, as always the Outkast throwback medley almost made me cry tears of joy. Alabama Shakes was also unbelievably good. Just heard Michael Kiwanuka as I was passing by (that’s what the artists in parentheses mean, I only saw them for a sec), but I was blown away by how good he was! Wish I could’ve heard more of his set. I’m officially  a fan. Passion Pit was also really good, which is only surprising because apparently the dude recently cancelled a bunch of shows last minute (according to the guy standing next to me the lead singer suffers from manic-depression, so my sympathies go out to him).

Alabama Shakes

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ti-3-6rRcE&feature=plcp]

 

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Hkmnsq5JT8&feature=plcp]

 

Big Boi

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hlfHLLC6Ic&feature=plcp]

 

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_8Mui7cdHo&feature=plcp]

 

Passion Pit

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7mCjMdg1VE&feature=plcp]

 

Day 3: Trampled by Turtles, Amadou & Mariam, Santigold, Dispatch, Stevie Wonder

Everyone I saw on Day 3 was pretty much incredible. For Trampled By Turtles I laid my blanket out on the ground and laid down for pretty much their entire set. I was vibing out hardcore to them. So grateful for my newfound appreciation of bluegrass. Amadou & Mariam was… unbelievable! So much fun dancing to them! I’ve decided that I absolutely must go see them again next time they play a show in the Bay Area. Will be following them very closely on SongKick. Obviously Santigold was the best thing that ever happened as I am only very much obsessed with her. And Stevie Wonder also goes without saying. I will say, though, that his covers (How Sweet It Is, The Way You Make Me Feel, Imagine, She Loves You, My Girl)  were almost as exciting as his hits. Almost

At this point the memory on my phone started to fill up (and I forgot to download in between days, whoops…), but here’s what I got to share with you.

Amadou & Mariam

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XlZTwVdCkIs&feature=plcp]

 

Santigold

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OvuJPXgFXpk&feature=plcp]

 

This was my first year going to Outside Lands, and I was not disappointed. It was also pretty funny (and immensely pleasing) how stereotypically San Francisco this festival was. Here’s a short list of just a couple (ridiculous) reminders I got that I was, in fact, still in Fog City:

  • There was, as at many festivals, a free shuttle to get through the park to the main entrance of the concert. But of course, rather than using small buses to shuttle everyone in, the obvious SF thing to do was shuttle people in Priuses. Four people at a time.
  • Typically when you go to concerts and start to feel hunger pangs your options are greasy hot dogs and soggy french fries. This weekend in Golden Gate Park, however, the choices were decidedly more foodie. On sale was an assortment of gourmet, organic, and local foods (including from local food trucks) that included gluten-free cornmeal waffles, salted caramel ice cream, and fresh, organic produce.
  • If the food wasn’t enough, you were free to check out Winelands, a tent set up on the festival grounds specifically for wine tasting.
  • The last day of the festival the organizers had decided not to do pat-downs at all since people had complained (which I found amusing due to the fact that the pat-downs had already been surprisingly minimal all weekend). Never mind whether or not you think this is a good idea, San Francisco is a (typically) non-violent city, so it didn’t pose any problems.

All in all a great (exhausting) weekend. I think I may just make it back next summer.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Outside Lands 2012 Recap (Video) « Da-What

Leave a Reply

