Yes, gun control. But also, mental health.

Yes, gun control. Obviously gun control. There is no way around that discussion. But also, what about mental health? We need to work towards keeping people out of the position where they would resort to killing in the first place. “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure” applies to sanity and happiness too. We don’t have super effective ways to help the surviving children from Sandy Hook Elementary heal from todays tragedy. It’s about time that America took a serious pledge towards addressing our nations mental health epidemic.

One comment

  1. forlibertysake

    I really like that line, “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.” I also appreciate the fact that you bring mental health into focus. I think that is extremely important.

    I wrote a piece on this myself. I would greatly appreciate any feedback you may have!

    http://forlibertysake.wordpress.com/2012/12/15/never-let-a-serious-crisis-go-to-waste-gun-regulation-talk-after-connecticut-tragedy/

    Best wishes on the Blogsphere!

Leave a comment